Unisa Council

Members of Council

Council members are diverse in their academic qualifications, industry knowledge, experience, race and gender and this diversity enables them, as individuals but more importantly, as a collective, to provide Unisa with the relevant judgement and guidance to ensure the long-term success and sustainability of the university.

 Members who are independent with a diverse range of skills

 Members appointed by the Minister

 Members who are employed of Unisa - both academic and non-academic including the Vice-Chancellor

 Members representing other critical stakeholders of Unisa

*All statistics sourced from the 2017 Unisa Annual Report

Chairperson of Council Mr S Simelane
Deputy Chairperson of Council Mr B Ngcaweni
Principal & Vice-Chancellor
Prof P LenkaBula
Non-Academic staff Ms J Mahlangu
Mr T Valoyi
Academic staff (non-Senate) Dr BB Senokoane
Mr M Bhomoyi
Local Government Representative Mr OSM Lebese
SRC Representative
(President of the SRC)
(Secretary General of the SRC)

Mr W Mazhetese
Mr A Ngwenya
Appointed by Council
Broad spectrum of competencies

Ms SF Mudau
Mr MJ Maboa
Ms DD Mokgatle
Prof GM Nkondo
Mr SI Mlauzi
Mr L Tlhabanelo
Dr WK Magasela
Ms TIM Wentzel
Dr DC Mamphiswana
Mr S Simelane
Ms BL Mapongwana

Senate representative
Prof LI Zungu
Prof M Moleki
Appointed by the Minister of Higher Education and Training Ms TCC Mampane
Prof ASV Magwaza
Ms NV Mokoka
Mr B Ngcaweni 
Mr DD Mosia
President of the Convocation Mr S Mhlungu
Representative of the Convocation Mr M Modiba
Representative of the Unisa Foundation Trust Vacant
Prof AP Phillips (Acting)
VICE-PRINCIPALS (In attendance)
Vice-Principal: Operations and facilities Dr MM Socikwa  
Vice-Principal: Information and Communication Technology Ms P Tshabalala
Acting Vice-Principal: Teaching, Learning, Community Engagement and Student Support
Prof VI McKay (Acting)
Vice-Principal:  Research, Postgraduate Studies, Innovation and Commercialisation Prof T Meyiwa
Vice-Principal: Institutional Development
Dr EP Mokgobu
Vice-Principal: Strategy, Risk and Advisory Services Prof SK Ndlovu
Vice-Principal: Finance and Business Enterprises

Ms R Mathura (Acting)

Deputy Registrar: Governance Dr JJ Baloyi
Head: Committee Services Mr KJ Mashamaite
Senior Committee Officer Ms L Mtungwa

Last modified: 2021/01/05