Chancellor's Calabash Awards

The awards are Unisa’s way of giving recognition to extraordinary South Africans particularly its alumni who have made a significant contribution in shaping humanity. The event is also intended to profile the work of the university and in particular inform decision makers in the public sector, business and civil society about the role and importance of the university to South Africa and the continent’s social and economic development.

Awards categories

The Chancellor’s Calabash Awards are presented in four categories:

  1. The Outstanding Educator Award acknowledges the contribution of any outstanding educator who has excelled in or advanced teaching learning, skills development and/or research in their area of expertise.

    The recipient need NOT be a graduate of Unisa, but must have made a significant contribution to our society in the area of primary/pre-primary, secondary or tertiary education as well as in research.

  2. The Outstanding Alumnus Award acknowledges an outstanding alumnus who has excelled in their area of expertise and has made a significant contribution to our society.

  3. The Unisa Robben Island Alumnus Award recognises the Robben Island alumni who sacrificed immensely the liberation of South Africa and our ongoing commitment to being a university that provides opportunities for all.

  4. The Public Service Award recognises South Africans who are making exceptional contributions in government structures.

The 2019 recepients are:

Prof Azwihangwisi Helen Mavhandu-Mudzusi Mr Sizwe Nxasana Judge Edwin Cameron Mr Kgalema Motlanthe
Outstanding Educator Award

Click here to read profile

Outstanding Alumnus Award
Click here to read profile

Public Servant Award
Click here to read profile

Robben Island Alumnus Award
Click here to read profile

Click here to read the 2019 calabash awards article.

For more information contact:

Mr David Farirai
Director: Institutional Advancement
Kgorong Building (Office: 2-019)
Tel:  +27(0)12 441-5684     
Fax: +27(0)86 660-1242

Last modified: 2019/11/13