News & Media

Long-service awards salute stellar Unisans

Prof Mandla Makhanya (Principal and VC) addressed a virtual ceremony held on 14 December 2020 to honour staff members who have served the university for 10 to 40 years.

“Unisa is a family—we even call ourselves Unisans. And our metaphorical ‘blood’, that bond which cannot be denied and which binds us together, is our service, our loyalty, and our commitment—to one another and to this university, the very same qualities that have ensured our victory over the challenges posed by Covid-19.”

With these stirring words, Professor Mandla Makhanya, Principal and Vice-Chancellor, addressed a virtual ceremony held on 14 December 2020 to honour staff members who have served the university for 10 to 40 years.

Organised by the Human Resources Administration Directorate, the event recognised more than 700 recipients, who will receive certificates as well as monetary bonuses according to the years they have served.

The VC congratulated the awardees, saying that each of them had contributed, in a material way, to the improvement of the life and living of every single Unisa graduate over the course of their employment. “The university owes its longevity and success to your efforts and the efforts of those who have gone before you. As an institution we are deeply appreciative of and thankful for your service and contributions to Unisa, our students present and past, to South Africa, our continent, and the rest of the world.”

In today’s bad-news world, good news is something everyone is clamouring for, and Unisa’s long-service awards fit the bill. Congratulations to the stalwarts honoured this year.

Dr Phasoane Mokgobu (VP: Institutional Development and Transformation) delivered the opening and welcome.

And the ‘Rubies’ are…

Professor Albert Kotzé: Tuition Support and Facilitation of Learning, University Teaching and Learning Development

Mokibelo Manamela: Regional Services: North Eastern

Daniel Lehong: Regional Services: Records Management

Tomas Floyd: Private Law, College of Law

Pauline du Toit: Infrastructure and Technology Support, ICT

Fransa van Wyk: Information Resource Content Management, Unisa Library

Professor Pieter Botha: Biblical and Ancient Studies, College of Human Sciences

Professor Linda Cornwell: Development Studies, College of Human Sciences

Professor Gera Ferreira: Public Administration and Management, College of Economic and Management Sciences

Phyllis Nel: Study Material Production and Delivery, Despatch

Yvonne van Stuyvenberg: Information Resource Distribution, Unisa Library

Arnold du Toit: VP Teaching Learning Community Engagement and Student Support: Counselling and Career Development

Breakdown of awards



















You can read the full list of recipients here.

* By Sharon Farrell, Editor, Department of Institutional Advancement

Teaser image sourced from Andrikkos under a Creative Commons licence.

Publish date: 2020/12/22