Timeline introduction

Set within a timeline of world events and powerful moments in South African history, Unisa’s 150-year story is told in vivid context. This timeline explores Unisa’s history across four periods: the imperial era, the federal period, the apartheid years and the democratic era. We see how educational, political and technological trends within the University mirror (or in some cases defy) trends in South Africa and the wider world. Navigate this timeline by period or by three strands — Unisa, South African and global events.


The Imperial Project (1800s - 1918)

The Federal University (1918 - 1948)

The Apartheid Project (1948 - 1994)

The Democratic Era (1994 - present)