UNESCO Chair on Open Distance Learning (ODL)

UNESCO Chair’s Partnerships and Networks

The UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Programme encourages partnerships (North-South-South) among institutions of higher education, NGOs, foundations, agencies, and public and private sector organisations or businesses.

Letters of support from the head of the institution(s)

Participating partner institutions


  • African Council for Distance Education (ACDE)
  • Commonwealth of Learning (CoL)
  • International Council for Open and Distance Education (ICDE)
  • African Virtual University (AVU)
  • National University of Lesotho (NUL)
  • Open University of Mauritius (OUM) 
  • Open University of Tanzania (OUT)
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Pretoria (UP)
  • University of Swaziland
  • Vaal University of Technology (VUT)


  • Botswana College of Distance and Open Learning (BCDOL)
  • Makerere University
  • Mzuzu University
  • Namibian College of Open Learning
  • Ndejje University, Kampala Campus
  • North-West University (NWU)
  • South African Institute for Distance Education (SAIDE)
  • University of Zambia

Last modified: 2023/08/07